Sign in to follow this  
Miskiin-Macruuf-Aqiyaar

Too much uunsi

0328perfume.jpg

Woman's scent not 'Very Irrésistible' to Calgary bus drivers

A Calgary transit rider says she was kicked off a city bus twice because the drivers complained about her perfume.

But Natalie Kuhn says she doesn't believe her Very Irrésistible by Givenchy was the real issue, arguing she was publicly humiliated because Calgary's transit staff are in the midst of a work-to-rule campaign.

"It's just a little too coincidental that I've been riding the bus without incident for five years and the first day of work-to-rule is when all this fuss happens."

Deb Angus, who works as an assistant at the University of Calgary (a campus that has a Scent-Free Awareness Program), said she sides with the bus driver because perfume causes pain across her head and whole left side.

"It's very difficult to work once I am under the influence of perfume," she said.

"These chemicals are affecting everything from our blood pressure, our nervous system, our lungs and our eyes and our major organs."

Angus said she wouldn't be surprised if a bus driver suffered in silence for a while before approaching Kuhn about the problem.

"That's the common thing with a lot of sufferers because this is a hard subject to bring up to people."

Kicked off Friday and Monday

The union representing Calgary's transit workers began a work-to-rule campaign Friday morning, refusing to work voluntary overtime.

Kuhn said a bus driver warned her Thursday morning that he couldn't focus because of her perfume and asked her to not wear it again. She said she checked with the city and was told there were no rules against wearing perfume.

On Friday morning, she got on the bus again and the driver walked off the vehicle, telling passengers it wasn't going anywhere because of Kuhn's perfume, she said.

Very irresistible, indhiidh.

Haneefah