Sign in to follow this  
GaroweGal

Hamza Yusuf

Let me begin by saying I dearly lovE this sheikh for the sake of Allah he is the ONLY western scholar I ever listen to. I love the way he lectures not only is he articulate but a man with an enormous Islamic knowledge. What I can't seem to understand is why other so-called scholars oppose his teachings especially those in the west, like Bilaal Phillips that attacked him publicly.

I don't oppose his teachings as I am not a scholar, I am only a student of Knowledge.

For those of you that are acquainted with Hamza's teachings and Zaytuna College I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions on this great scholar who refuses to be considered a scholar at all.

Blessed   

If Hamza Yusuf is the ONLY scholar that you listen to, doesn't that limit your scope of understanding?

I recommend that you move away from the personalities of these brothers and look into their teachings or approaches to learning the deen. I didn't read Bilals' critique against Hamza's methodology as a personal attack but as an issue of manhaj and an age old debate.

Correction, He is not the ONLY scholar I listen to rather the ONLY WESTERN scholar and NO it does not limit my understanding of the diin and NO I am not particularly hang up on personalities. I don't believe in Sheikh shopping. Listening to many sheikhs is what gets many students of knowledge confused and I don't wish to find myself in that predicament. I just happen to love the way Hamza explains the religion of Islam and it's teachings. I don't care about his methodology as long as it doesn't contradict Allah's words or the Sunnah of the prophet.

I can't comment on Bilal, I don't know much about the man, but rest assure I found his attack on Hamza to be a personal attack.

Ofcourse Hamza being the classy man he is let it slide under the carpet. Gotta love the man.

Mario B