Suldaanka

The culmination of Burao Conference 1991, Go'aankii 18ka May

Oodweyne   

Suldaanka,

Man, what historical day it was. I was there (right there in the crowd), I was attached to late Prof. Ibrahim Meygaag Samatar (AUN), as his note-taker in the meetings. There were endless political meetings of the SNM's high command (by Mr. Tuur, the Chairman, and the rest of the central committee). Particularly as to what to do in the light of what took place in the country and the total destruction that we had in our hand at the time.

I was a graduate student in London (UCL), who as soon as I heard the country was liberated, I legged-off from London, took a flight to Djibouti, and I was in the ground in Hargeisa by mid-April. The country was like a horror-scene straight out from Hiroshima kind of destruction. But by the grace of God, it was in our SNM's hand and it was free, at last.

What a historical day it was, indeed.  

• Thanks 2

LOOL

I was in Addis Abeba at the time. That was when the regime change taking place and TPLF tanks rolled into the city.

Within weeks we were listening to the first May 18 songs... 

ma waqooyi baa saaka loo wanqalay,

ma walaaci baa laga raystay oo

wado xaqa la maray.

Ma Wiilasheenii ba, noo talinaayo

Waynaada la yidhi

Wehel toosanaan

Waa mahad alee

Warka maanta yimid

Wax ku ool ahaa...

• Thanks 1

Oodweyne   

^^^^

Yep, that was the moment the "political mistake" of 1960 was corrected. And it was a beautiful day. I remember it very well, I was asked by Prof Meygaag and Chairman Tuur, along with Meygaag's cousin from the US, whose name was Saciid Meygaag, who was a friend of mine, to write (in English) the first public relation pronouncement from the SNM in terms of why we went for independence.