in ,

APEGA honors Somali Canadian Engineer for his contribution

APEGA President Nima Dorjee, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.) presented a recognition award to Somali Canadian engineer and former #APEGA_MH chair Mr. Said Yussuf, P. Eng., for his service and commitment to the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta over the years. The milestone recognition award acknowledges engineers and geoscientists who make measurable contribution to the promotion of engineering and geoscience within their communities.

Said Yussuf, P. Eng. was previously elected to two terms as the Chair of APEGA MH. He was instrumental in revitalizing APEGA MH branch activities, spearheading the establishment of APEGA’s first Engineering Transfer scholarship at Medicine Hat College with multi-year financial commitment from APEGA.

The annual President’s dinner was attended by Canadian politicians Mr. Drew Barnes (United Conservative Party), MLA for Cypress-Medicine Hat, Mayor of Medicine Hat, Ted Clugston and others.

“APEGA MH has decades of outreach and community involvement experience in promoting the engineering and geoscience professions. The Branch represents APEGA in the many communities in and around the city of Medicine Hat including Acadia Valley, Bindloss, Bow City, Bow Island, Brooks, Buffalo, Burdett, Cessford, Duchess, Dunmore, Elkwater, Empress, Grassy Lake, Hays, Hilda, Iddesleigh, Irvine, Jenner, Maleb, Manyberries, Medicine Hat, Millicent, Onefour, Patricia, Purple Springs, Rainier, Ralston, Redcliff, Rolling Hills, Scandia, Schuler, Seven Persons, Suffield, Tilley, Walsh, Wardlow, Wild Horse.”

“Created on April 10, 1920, The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) regulates the practices of engineering and geoscience in Alberta on behalf of the Government of Alberta through the Engineering and Geoscience Professions Act. It is the largest association of self-regulated professionals in Western Canada.”

Leave a Reply