Sign in to follow this  
STOIC

Still searching for a Somali friend after 30 years

STOIC   

By Larry Wilsonhttp://www.dailynews.com/opinion/20131104/still-searching-for-a-somali-friend-after-30-years-larry-wilson

When, just out of college in the late 1970s and early 1980s, I worked as a technical editor at a massive construction project in Saudi Arabia, I didn’t make all that many Saudi friends.

British friends, Indian friends, Kenyan friends, yes. But the Saudis in our offices were often such princelings that they put in just a couple of hours during the middle of the day. Or they were older and very high up and there would be no reason to get to know a 23-year-old Yank.

Saeed was different. A year or two younger than me, he had been to college in the United States. He spoke fluent English. He was shy but friendly. Very observant, so that he stuck to Pepsi when he came to the young guys’ gatherings that — don’t be too shocked, now — involved bathtub hooch in a country in which alcohol is (supposedly) strictly forbidden.

While Saeed was a Saudi citizen, he was also clearly of African descent. I asked him about his name — Saeed Omer al-Somali. “Well, really, Larry, my name is Saeed Omer, plain and simple,” he said. “But when you are black like me, and are born here, they tag the country you came from onto your name on your passport.”

It would be as if we called someone, well, Juan Reyes the Guatemalan just because of where his parents are from — called them that officially, on a passport.

Actually, I was amazed at how multi-cultural and essentially non-racist Saudi society was. Muslim Africans were everywhere, some fairly high up in the social and business heirarchies. Saeed didn’t complain of discrimination.

He came from the merchant class, his father a sheep trader whose boats came around the Horn of Africa and up into the port of Jeddah laden with livestock. That’s how Saeed had been born in the Western Province where we lived and worked.